Mastering Night Work Without Losing Sleep

Your essential guide to dominating the construction bidding and building world with the latest tech, market trends, and wisdom.

Mastering Night Work Without Losing Sleep

TL;DR:

In the paving industry, keeping your phone by the bed is essential for managing night work. Early in my career, I learned that staying too involved in night shifts can harm both your team's confidence and your own effectiveness. By setting clear schedules, trusting your team, and providing constructive feedback, you can master the challenges of night work without burning out or micromanaging.

Photo Credit: Summers-Taylor

These days, we’re told to leave our phones in another room while we sleep. Less screen time, fewer distractions - sounds like a solid plan for better sleep, right? But for folks in the paving industry, it doesn’t work like that. As a paving professional, my phone was always on the bedside table, plugged in right next to my book and reading glasses. Not because I’m addicted to my screen, but because when you have crews working through the night, you need to be available. If you’re in charge, your phone is your lifeline to the job.

I learned this lesson early on in my career. My first major job as an asphalt Project Manager (PM) was on an interstate paving project. I was determined to make sure everything went smoothly. Our Superintendent and Field Engineer were still gaining experience, but the Foreman and crew were solid. They worked nights while I, as the PM, was responsible for overseeing the entire operation, providing daytime support, communicating with the owner, and ensuring they had everything needed for the next shift.

On that first night, I made a rookie mistake - one that I’ve never forgotten. After attending the safety meeting before sunset, I decided to stick around and ride with the Superintendent and Field Engineer. The crew got off to a slow start, and I felt compelled to “stay and support the team.” So, I didn’t leave until 2 AM, even though I needed to be up early the next day. Unsurprisingly, the following day I was exhausted, running on caffeine, and probably not the easiest person to work with.

As the job progressed, the late-night calls started coming in - issues with ride quality, tack truck, traffic control, trucks not showing up... you name it... I spent so much time at the project at night that it became the norm. I thought I was being supportive, but the job didn’t go well, and my relationship with the Superintendent started to fray.

What I didn’t realize at the time was how my constant presence must have looked to the team. By staying on-site day and night, I unintentionally signaled a lack of trust in their ability to manage things on their own. My micromanagement led them to feel they had to consult me on every issue, rather than taking initiative and solving problems independently. This not only eroded their confidence but also caused other projects to suffer, as my lack of sleep left me less effective during the day. This isn’t an anti-hustle message - I’ve gained invaluable experience working night shifts - but it’s important to recognize the impact of our actions on those around us.

Thankfully, on the next night project, I tried a different approach. My boss suggested I set a schedule for when I’d visit the job site and stick to it. At first, I wasn’t thrilled about the idea. But soon, I realized that the team performed better when I wasn’t hovering over them. The late-night calls stopped, and the crew found their rhythm.

Photo Credit: CalTrans

Here are some best practices I’ve learned from managing night work:

1. Designate Night and Day Shifts

Staff your work so that everyone, managers included, works either a night shift or a day shift - never both. Trying to juggle both is a recipe for burnout and mistakes. Implement a process for baton passing if the day team’s work impacts the night team. Keep your night crews on a consistent schedule as long as possible. Shifting them between day and night work will lead to unhappy, exhausted workers.

2. Set a Schedule and Stick to It

Your presence at the beginning of a night shift can boost morale, but there’s a fine line between showing support and micromanagement. Plan your work with the team and work the plan. You don’t need to spend the entire night at the site to prove you’ve got their backs. If you’re on the day shift, set a specific time to visit and a time to leave. Eat well, get good sleep, and exercise. It’s easy to get caught up in the excitement, but staying too long sends the wrong message.

3. Provide Constructive Feedback

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, seeing the work with your own eyes and providing feedback is crucial. When there’s nothing but an orange drum between fathers/mothers/daughters/sons and 75 MPH traffic, your feedback means something. After your visit, send an email or text to the supervisory team with a recap. Start with the positives and then address any areas that need improvement. Regular, constructive feedback helps build a stronger, more capable team.

4. Do Your Job - But Let Them Do Theirs

Your role as a PM, Division Manager, or VP is to support your team and ensure the work is done correctly - not to run the paver. Trust your crew to do their jobs. Know that overstepping your bounds only undermines their confidence and creates dependency.

5. Empower Decision-Making at the Lowest Possible Level

Find the best people you can, and trust them to make decisions. Trust and verify. They might make mistakes, but that’s part of the learning process. As long as they’re not repeating the same errors, they’ll grow stronger and more capable with each challenge.

6. Show Up When It Matters

There will be times when your presence is necessary - major safety or quality issues, for example. In those cases, get out there and see things firsthand. But for the day-to-day, trust your team to handle it.

In the end, keeping the phone by your bed is about being ready to support your team when they truly need it. The key is to find the balance between oversight and trust, ensuring your team feels empowered and capable while knowing you’re there if things go sideways.

In Case You Missed It

Some of my most popular blog posts:

Last Week’s Product Update:

Coming Next Week

Next week, stay tuned for a spotlight with Brandon Finn, EVP of Asphalt Operations, with Emery Sapp & Sons!

How would you describe today's newsletter?

Leave a rating to help us improve the newsletter.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Enjoyed this newsletter? Forward it to a friend and have them sign up here!

About the Author

Tristan Wilson is the CEO and Founder of Edgevanta. We make software that helps contractors win more work at the right price. He is a 4th Generation Contractor, construction enthusiast, ultra runner, and bidding nerd. He worked his way up the ladder at Allan Myers in the Mid-Atlantic and his family’s former business Barriere Construction before starting Edgevanta in Nashville, where the company is based. Reach out to him at [email protected]